Audits Hackathons Blockgeeks About

Do you want to co-found a tech-for-good social enterprise?

Yes, that’s a serious question.

My name is David, and I’m putting together a new project called InTACC, the International Trading Alliance for Community Currencies. I’ve got lots of experience as a social entrepreneur, but I couldn’t code to save my life. Probably literally.

That’s where you come in. I need a co-founder. Someone with the tech skills and the drive to work with me on building something genuinely innovative and original.

You will lead on developing every aspect of the tech, while I handle the business and communications side. We’ll work on building the team together; as we expand the number of people working on the tech, you’ll project-manage their work and I’ll make sure they’re happy in their work. You will have a full and equal voice in how we develop the organisation.

The InTACC vision is to build a platform which can democratically link together community currencies like the Bristol Pound. Community currencies are proving increasingly successful and effective, and they’re helping to build much more resilient and progressive communities. But they necessarily don’t connect into the global economy except through fiat currency and other currencies which are vulnerable to speculation. That means the communities they serve are still vulnerable to economic shocks.

InTACC will build a system which enables communities which have community currencies to trade goods and services between themselves on a community-to-community basis, without ever touching ‘fiat’ currency or even trading the community currencies themselves. This could help supercharge community development and resilience, especially for more deprived areas. And it can help build a much more progressive economy for all of us.

To be the kind of person I’d like to talk to about this, you’ll need to show me that you can meet a few broad criteria.